CAMPING, HOW SWEET IT IS!!

Get Me Back To The Great Outdoors

So it’s been a few weeks now that I’ve been living the luxury life of a real bed, water on tap, and power straight out of a power point.. But as nice as these things are, I really do miss the camping lifestyle. I’ve been getting my fix here and there with my mates, but it’s really made me think about what it is I love about camping..

Going to sleep with the sound of the waves. Nice

Going to sleep with the sound of the waves. Nice

Here’s a few things that I’ve missed and will be happy when I get back out to sample them all again:

Animal Nature and the Blessed Sights, Scents and Sounds:

Just out for a stroll

Just out for a stroll

As much as I try to have a sleep in, it really doesn’t work. And why bother when each morning I have the joy to wake up to hear the birds doing their sympathy (and even better an hour later when they’ve gone all chilled and I can sleep for a little while longer, lazy, maybe!!). It’s fun to listen to them chattering in the tree tops while they’re having their feed. It’s like a crazy conversation, a great gossip session, or just some mates hanging out.

 

IMG_5755 IMG_5506I love watching the kangaroos/ wallabies/ cows and all the others, calmly grazing just meters from my tent, not bothered by me in the slightest. Chance encounters like a Cassowary passing by, or a Monitor Lizard coming to inspect my goods. And don’t forget those magic creatures of the night like the super shiny green tree frog hanging out in the local loo, or the barking owl calling out to his mates. The friendly possums and the talkative fruit bats. So much animal magic to be experienced out in the Nature. No electronic equipment required. Maybe just a camera to capture those memories forever.

Starry, Starry Nights:

Somewhere out THERE!

Somewhere out THERE!

On any given night the sky will come alive with the dazzling delights in its twinkling wonderland. Star gazing with the app Skyguide has opened up another world for me. Filled with the constellations and the planets. Pointing out each individual matter. A star here, a galaxy there, the Milky Way splashing across the Southern Sky. The naked eye can see so much but add a telescope, or better still, go hang out at an Observatory and the skies are ablaze. Saturn’s rings are made so clearly visible, constellations within constellations stand out and shine. What IS so far is brought that tiny bit closer. Got to love a clear night sky!!

What a magical campground!!

What a magical campground!! With an Observatory too!!

CAMPFIRES, THE MAGIC OF THE FLAMES..

IMG_0736Nothing beats the good ol’ campfire, or as otherwise know, the Bushman’s Tele. The warmth on a cold night makes you want to just curl up next to it and slumber through until morning. The light on a summers nights hypnotizes you to the dance of the flames. And oh what about the cooking on a campfire. I’m still a novice with just my marshmallows and my damper, but the cook outs these outdoor kitchens can produce is just deliciously spectacular.

IMG_0465

Working the Camp Cook out Magic!!

 

Camp Renovations:

The flags are up, the dream catcher in its place. Time to set out my camp design for the next few days. Each time it’s a little bit different. A chance to improve on what I’ve got. Fine tuning my sweet camp set up. Making my home from the patch of dirt that I’ve got 🙂

IMG_0581

The home away from home, WHEREVER it may be!!

About the chameleon traveller

Since 1999 I've been travelling between Australia, Europe and South East Asia!!! and Still going Strong.. After 15 years of travels there's a backpack full of photos and a van load packed with stories that need to be shared. Not to mention the future adventures that are always just around the corner!!! Come Join Me!!
This entry was posted in Camping, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

