Chance Encounters

WHEN THE PAST COMES TO VISIT.

It’s not everyday that you run into someone you know down the street. Well, it isn’t for me anyhow thanks to the amount of times that I generally move around over the years. So when I had not one, but two, chance encounters happen within a few days of each other. Both with links from my past many, many, many moons ago. It had me thinking about the future and reflecting on the past.

THE FIRST chance encounter was with an old boss of mine from well before my travelling days had even begun. We worked in one of the funkiest and possibly smallest cafe spaces that I think Melbourne was lucky to be ever graced with called “Cafe Negrita”.

He and his lovely wife were up in Cairns for a bit of a holiday, escaping the Winter that was still lingering on down south.  We happened to bump into one another down at the Free Fitness on the Esplanade. After finishing a beautiful morning Yoga session at the Lagoon, we decided to promenade (as you do) down the Esplanade catching up on the past, present & future.

We stopped for a coffee and the conversation just kept rolling on. Time was speeding by, but it honestly felt like it was only yesterday when we had last chatted. Not over 15 years ago.

When we had said our farewells and summer plans to catch up had been made, I headed off to collect my bike. I was about to leave when a gentleman stopped me and enquired “Where had we met??” Hello, chance encounter Number TWO!!

I’d actually worked and lived in the same crazy cool hostel with this guy over in Bonnie Scotland over 10 years ago. The Princes St Backpackers was a place for me of good times and happy memories.

It played its part in my falling in love with the city of Edinburgh and the country of Scotland.

So this lad is Australian too and after having completed his Diving Instructor Certificate in Thailand, he’s now living in the Tropics looking to get on to boat ASAP and get out to some Great Barrier Reef diving. Best of luck to him too! Where there’s a will there’s a way!!

We’ll catch up again and thanks to good ol’ Facebook, the contact is now there, the link has been made.

So, These CHANCE ENCOUNTERS.

What do they mean? What do I do?

Nothing to drastic. I just took the time to reflect on these occurrences and they made me realise that these people, even after all the years, obviously still have positive memories about me and that has helped to make them eager participates to catch up and share the adventures of the years that have gone by from then to now. And to open themselves to the possibilities of making more bright memories in the future to come.

These chance encounters have also made me think about how I have grown and changed (I’d like to say for the better!! 🙂 ) since the first times that I met those lovely souls. How I can honestly say that I’m happy where I’m at, or I wouldn’t be here. I’d be moving on to the next adventure and working for a better tomorrow. A tomorrow that will lead to bigger and better things.

New places, friendly faces, more stories and magical memories.

As the future where I’m heading is going to be filled with good times, great friends and glorious adventures. Just like the past!!

I’m working on that one shining day after another.

TCT

About the chameleon traveller

Since 1999 I've been travelling between Australia, Europe and South East Asia!!! and Still going Strong.. After 15 years of travels there's a backpack full of photos and a van load packed with stories that need to be shared. Not to mention the future adventures that are always just around the corner!!! Come Join Me!!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Where I'm At and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chance Encounters

  1. Claudia says:

    Beautiful travel stories and images. Our country is gorgeous. Catch up with you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

